29th November 2017, 14:56 | university

South West v South East teams announced

South West v South East teams announced

England Universities selection hots up...

The South East and South West Universities squads have been announced for their clash this weekend.

The sides go head-to-head on Saturday at Maidenhead RFC, 4pm kick off.

The tie forms part of the selection process for England Universities ahead of their Four Nations title defence next year.

The University of Gloucestershire lead the way in the South West squad with 11 members of the 20-strong side.

James Mason, who scored against eventual champions Australia at the Student World Cup this year, is aiming for a return to the national side alongside goalkicking halfback Ben Stead.

Five players also come from the University of Exeter, with University of Bath, Swansea University, Cardiff Met and the University of Bristol also represented by a player each.

Meanwhile, the South East squad sees talent from five different universities.

The versatile Charlie Greene, a member of the England Universities train-on squad last year, is joined by no fewer than 11 St Mary's team mates, while Oxford contribute three members of the South East team.

Two players come from the recently-formed Brighton University side, while there are sole representatives from Brunel, Cambridge and Bedfordshire.

Full squads:

South West

Josh Verity - University of Gloucestershire
Errol Carter - University of Gloucestershire
Callum Merrett - University of Gloucestershire
Josh Frost - University of Gloucestershire
Ben Stead - University of Gloucestershire
Paul Bolger - University of Gloucestershire
Luke Stephens - University of Gloucestershire
Harris Jones - University of Gloucestershire
James Mason - University of Gloucestershire
Lewis McCracken - University of Gloucestershire
Callum Bradbury - University of Gloucestershire
Jack Ellis - University of Exeter
Dominic Brooke - University of Exeter
Josh Graham - University of Exeter
Alex Ford - University of Exeter
Brandon Jones - University of Exeter
Jordan Smith - University of Bath
Lartey Laryea - Swansea University
Kyle Johns - Cardiff Met
Alex Mayo - University of Bristol

South East

Christopher Anderson - St Mary's
Charlie Faux - St Mary's
Nathaniel Vine Nubby - St Mary's
Ciaran Howard - St Mary's
Josh Spearing - Bedfordshire
Dan Barnes - St Mary's
Conor Williets - Oxford
Josh Robson - St Mary's
Marco Hiscox - Oxford
Jack Kennedy - Brighton
Jake Brown - Brunel
Craig Winfield - Cambridge
Oscar Ward - St Mary's
Dan Roberts - St Mary's
Will Buckingham - St Mary's
Marcus Hockey - St Mary's
Will Henshall - Oxford
Huw Roberts - Brighton
Charles Hammond - St Mary's
Charlie Greene - St Mary's

Full details:

Date: Saturday 2nd December 2017

Fixture: South East Vs South West

Venue: Maidenhead RFC

Kick off: 4pm Kick Off